03
Jun
09

Amusing New York Phenomena Part II

Groundscorin’ with the Dickchicken
So a while back I was on my way to a meeting in Williamsberg about a music video I’ve been working on, and I came across this lovely scene. Someone with pretty good taste in tunes put out several hundreds of CDs on the sidewalk, for passersby to snatch up! Score! I got me some vintage Nas, some Fela Kuti, Jay Z, and lots of other good stuff. Way to pay it forward, anonymous Williamsbergian!

Down the block from the CDs I saw this graffiti. I took a picture of it as it looks somewhat Banksy-esque, but I have my doubts about Banksy being the artist. Either way, something about a guy in a bowler hat and pinstripes making a giraffe into his own personal robot slave seems both terrifying to me and kind of awesome.

Oh yeah, and next to the Giraffe guy, was the Dickchicken. Most ridiculous. Stencil. Ever.

Apparently this Dickchicken character is blowin’ up the blog-o-sphere. Nice work, Dickchicken.

Rock N Roll Sushi

In the Upper West Side there used to be this restaurant that was called ‘Vinyl’ or ‘Records’ or something like that. The whole interior was plastered with 12″ vinyl records like a not-shitty version of the Hard Rock Cafe, so we decided to check it out. Unfortunately it had gone out of business, and in its place is a sushi restaurant. None of the vinyl is there, but when the place was redone they left the bathrooms alone, so in this random sushi restaurant each bathroom has these funky mosaics: one for the Rolling Stones, one for Elton John, and one for Diana Ross. The sushi is pretty good too.

Night(at the Museum)-mare

One of my favorite places in NYC is the Natural History Museum. I can’t get enough of that place. I think I have gone 7 times in the past year and still haven’t been to MOMA or the Met. The whole top floor is filled with dinosaur skeletons and its freakin’ amazing. I found this fella here particularly awesome/terrifying. Its hard to tell from the pics but this extinct moose/deer thing stands around 7 – 9 ft tall, and was imported straight from the Jurassic into your nightmares, stopping long enough to make a cameo in a Tim Burton movie.

–DJ Rex Manning Day

0 Responses to “Amusing New York Phenomena Part II”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

waronfun_120x60

Top Posts

Categories

Twitter: DJ Rex Manning Day


