04
Mar
09

Raphael Saadiq, bringin’ soul back…

Raphael Saadiq – The Fillmore, San Francisco 3/3/09

So, this sort of goes without saying, but I’ve seen a lot of shows.  I mean, a LOT of shows.  There’s kind of this stereotype of the bitter, jaded, or snobby people who have worked in the music industry for a while, rarely impressed or happy with most music they see.  I don’t think that’s necessarily true (the bitter, jaded, snobby part), I think it’s more that we’ve seen a shit-ton of live music, and it’s just a bit harder for us to be wowed by something.  Be it fantastically great or fantastically awful, I’m all for it.. I’m not impressed by mediocrity.

That being said, I worked the Raphael Saadiq show at the Fillmore last night, and it was fan-freaking-tastic.

raphael_saadiq_bw-thumb-473x493

I didn’t think I even knew who this guy was until I looked him up on Wikipedia:

Raphael Saadiq (born Charlie Ray Wiggins on May 14, 1966 in Oakland, California) is an American singer, songwriter and record producer associated with the soul music movement.

Saadiq began his professional career as the lead vocalist and bassplayer in the rhythm and blues and dance trio Tony! Toni! Toné!.

Seriously?  The dude from Tony! Toni! Tone! and he was born locally?  Neat!  Here’s an audio clip from his most recent album, The Way I See It which came out in 2008.

Here’s the actual video (you get a lot of what he is like live in this video), since YouTube embedding was disabled.

This guy has such a great sound and put on an amazing show.  His back-up singer/dancers were awesome (I’m such a sucker for coordinated back-up dancers).. they both had so much energy and fire and added a lot to the performance.  The musicians were all really talented.  Everything about this came together perfectly.

I think I’m out of positive adjectives to describe this show.  Awesome.

-bex

2 Responses to “Raphael Saadiq, bringin’ soul back…”


  1. 1 Jackie
    March 5, 2009 at 1:15 pm

    Why WOULDN’T one of the Tony’s have backup dancers? Man that is sweet. Good song too… like when we used to listen to the oldies station. Me likey.

  2. 2 Nancy Clothier
    January 21, 2010 at 1:26 pm

    I love it! Wow!


Leave a Reply

waronfun_120x60

Categories

Twitter: DJ Rex Manning Day


